7th Concert of the International Music Cycle

6. April 2016
Knight's Hall, Križanke
Free entrance

Important information

General Terms and Conditions

Note: This information pertains to a past event. For the most up-to-date information, please check our calendar.




R. Schumann: Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73
E. Grieg: Cello Sonata in A minor, Op. 36

W. A. Mozart: Andante in F major, KV 616
V. Zoccatelli: Suite Balcanica
D. Milhaud: La cheminée du Roi René
M. Arnold: Three Shanties, Op. 4

Sebastian Bertoncelj, born in 1992, is the son of one of the finest pianists Slovenia has ever produced, the late Aci Bertoncelj. He began studying the cello in Domžale with Zdenka Kristl Marinič. Since 2006 he has been a student of Miloš Mlejnik at the Ljubljana Academy of Music.
He has also studied with Conradin Brotbek in Stuttgart and Christian Poltéra in Lucerne and attended the masterclasses of Heinrich Schiff, Philippe Muller, Antonio Meneses, Gal Faganel and others.
He has successfully participated in several competitions, both at home and abroad. He has won first prizes at competitions in Gorizia, Trieste and Vipiteno and a third prize at the Armin Kaufmann Competition in Austria. He is also a three-time first prize winner at the national TEMSIG competition in Slovenia.
Sebastian appears regularly on concert platforms at home and abroad, and at music festivals, where he performs either as a soloist or with orchestras.
He is also a keen chamber musician. In 2014 he won first prize and the highest score at the TEMSIG competition with the piano trio Aeternum. To date the trio has performed in Slovenia, Italy, Austria, Switzerland and Bosnia and Herzegovina.
Among the musicians he has worked with are his teacher Miloš Mlejnik, Boštjan Lipovšek, Wonji Kim Ozim, Dalibor Miklavčič, Johannes Kropfitsch, Wolfgang Davide, Klaus Maetzel and members of the Slovene Philharmonic Orchestra.
In 2011 Sebastian Bertoncelj received the Škerjanec Prize of the Ljubljana Conservatory of Music and Ballet. Two years later he won the Student Prešeren Prize of the Ljubljana Academy of Music.

Lorenzo Cossi was born in Trieste, where he studied at the Conservatory of Music under Giuliana Gulli before going on to study with other notable teachers such as Nino Gardi, Elisso Virsaladze, Joaquín Achúcarro, William Grant Naboré and Jerome Lowenthal. He has also attended the International Piano Academy on Lake Como and the Accademia Chigiana in Siena.
In 2011 he was one of ten pianists selected to take part in the Music Academy of the West summer festival in Santa Barbara, California.
His repertoire extends from baroque to contemporary music, with a particular emphasis on jazz and related styles.
His enthusiasm for chamber music has led him to work with noted musicians such as Johannes Moser, Federico Agostini, Geoff Nuttal and Amanda Roocroft.
He has won prestigious international competitions such as the Rina Sala Gallo International Piano Competition in Monza and the Giuliano Pecar International Piano Competition in Gorizia, among others. He has twice been a finalist at the Ferruccio Busoni International Piano Competition in Bolzano.
He was recently one of five finalists at the Honens International Piano Competition in Calgary (Canada), where he gave a notable performance of Brahm’s First Piano Concerto with the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Roberto Minczuk. The Cincinnati Enquirer wrote: “Cossi’s technique and command of sonority were simply stunning. He produced lush, orchestral sounds and performed amazing feats, but always with a refined touch.”

The Anemos Wind Quintet formed in 2008 when five young musicians from Italy’s Friuli region decided to dedicate themselves to the exploration of the rich repertoire for wind ensembles from the 18th century to the present day.
Over the course of the last seven years the quintet has performed in several important concerts in Italy and Slovenia. The members of the quintet are protégés of Paolo Calligaris, a member of the Slowind Wind Quintet and first bassoon of the Slovene Philharmonic Orchestra.
Their artistic journey has taken them to the Guido Cantelli Wind Festival in Novara, the international Nei Suoni dei Luoghi Festival in Friuli, the Vatican Museum and several important concert venues in Friuli-Venezia Giulia.
Accolades to date have included a first prize at the 3rd International Competition for Wind Ensembles in Bertiolo, Italy, a first prize and special jury prize at the Svirél International Music Competition in Štanjel, Slovenia, a second prize at the Concorso Nazionale di Esecuzione Musicale Città di Piove di Sacco, and a third prize at the International Lilian Caraian Chamber Music Competition in Trieste.
All five members of the quintet have played in or are currently members of various orchestras, including the Orchestra dell’Accademia Teatro alla Scala in Milan, the Orchestra del Teatro La Fenice in Venice, the Italian Youth Orchestra, the Orchestra of Fondazione Teatro Lirico Giuseppe Verdi in Trieste, the Klagenfurt Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra del Teatro Lirico di Cagliari, the Cameristi Triestini and the Haydn Orchestra in Bolzano.
The repertoire of the Anemos Wind Quintet includes works by Haydn, Johann Christian Bach, Mozart, Danzi, Beethoven, Reicha, Debussy, Ibert, Milhaud, Hindemith, Bozza, Mahler, Ligeti, Rota and others.



Important information

General Terms and Conditions