We would like to inform you that the 35th Slovenian Music Days, which will take place from 14th till 21st April, will be held entirely online.
At the start of each event the link for free streaming will be posted on the homepage of ljubljanafestival.si

The programme brochure is available here.

Night of Slovene Composers

20. April 2021
7.00 pm
Festival Ljubljana Website
Free streaming

Important information

General Terms and Conditions

The programme brochure of 35th Slovenian Music Days is available here.

Mateja Bajt, recorder
Tajda Krajnc, zither
Veronika Brecelj, violin
Jerica Kozole, violin
Janez Podlesek, violin
Rok Zgonc,  violin

B. Arnič Lemež: Romance (for zither)*
V. Avsec: Samos spev (for recorder)*
A. Bajde: A Clockwork Violin (for violin)*
I. Dekleva: Pizzicato mobile (for violin)*
A. Goričar: Series of Dreams (for violin)*
T. Habe: Lively Tune (for violin)*
U. Jašovec: Fenghuang (for recorder)*
P. Mihelčič: Net (for violin)*
E. Spruk: External Deviation (for violin)*
J. Strajnar: Pain (for violin)*
T. Svete: Rhizôme (for violin)*
Ž. Živković: Diatessaron (for violin)*

* premiere performance

The traditional Night of Slovene Composers features premiere performances of new solo works by Slovene composers. This evening of new works begins with a piece for the zither by the Vienna-based composer, pianist and teacher Blaženka Arnič Lemež (b. 1947). A plucked string instrument deriving from the folk tradition, the zither is gradually establishing itself as a concert instrument in Slovenia. Although the zither has only been a regular part of elementary music education in this country since 2003, the 2014/15 academic year saw its inclusion in the arts gymnasium. The other special instrument featured in this evening’s programme is the recorder, which is usually associated with the early music repertoire. On this occasion we will have the opportunity to hear it in a more contemporary musical and aesthetic context, in works by the composer, accordionist and teacher Vitja Avsec (b. 1970), whose compositions are distinguished by a careful organisation of musical material and articulation of form and composer Uršula Jašovec (b. 1986), who is also a teacher of solfeggio, a répétiteur and a choir director. Eight composers have written pieces for solo violin. They are: the Maribor composer and jazz singer Aleksandra Bajde (b. 1987), who currently lives in Vienna; the acclaimed pianist and composer Igor Dekleva (b. 1933); the pianist and composer Andrej Goričar (b. 1971), winner of the IV International Composition Prize SEM 2019 (Italy); the composer, conductor and educator Tomaž Habe (b. 1947); the composer and professor of composition Pavel Mihelčič (b. 1937), who has nurtured several successful composers at the Ljubljana Academy of Music; the trombonist, arranger and conductor Emil Spruk (b. 1960), who works mainly in the jazz field; the distinguished ethnomusicologist and composer Julijan Strajnar (b. 1936), who began his musical career as a violinist; the acclaimed Maribor composer and teacher Tomaž Svete (b. 1956); and the noted guitarist, teacher and composer Žarko Živković (b. 1953). The new works will be premiered by the following acclaimed soloists: concert recorderist and teacher Mateja Bajt, violinists Veronika Brecelj, Jerica Kozole, Janez PodlesekRok Zgonc and zither player Tajda Krajnc, who is currently studying the zither at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Munich.

Helena Filipčič Gardina

Important information

General Terms and Conditions