Closing of the 62nd Ljubljana Festival

1. September 2014
Cankarjev dom
99, 69, 49, 29 €

Important information

General Terms and Conditions

Note: This information pertains to a past event. For the most up-to-date information, please check our calendar.


Solist: Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano


J. Brahms:Variations on a theme by J. Haydn, Op. 56a
D. Šostakovič: Symphony no. 1
M. Ravel: Piano concerto in G major
M. Ravel:   Daphnis et Chloé, Suite no. 2

When the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra of Amsterdam performed in Slovenia in 2002, the audience was bedazzled and overwhelmed by the soft, silky sound of the strings and the strong, intense sound of wind instruments. Without a doubt, this orchestra is one of the best in the world. Its conductor and charismatic artist Mariss Jansons also adds that special allure to the orchestra. Many years ago, as a young artist, he conducted the RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra and also visited Slovenia several times with some world-renowned orchestras.

Hailed as “one of the best pianists in the world”, Jean-Yves Thibaudet continues to captivate audiences around the world with his thrilling performances, profound artistry, poetic musicality and dazzling technical prowess. He will perform Ravel’s playful Piano Concerto in G-major, which is one of the most beautiful orchestral pieces of the 20th century.


Important information

General Terms and Conditions