European Union Youth Orchestra

Julian Rachlin, violin; Vasillij Petrenko, conductor

11. August 2016
Slovenian Philharmonic
24, 19 €

Important information

General Terms and Conditions

Note: This information pertains to a past event. For the most up-to-date information, please check our calendar.

Opening speech: Mitja Bervar, President of the National Council of the Republic of Slovenia

Conductor: Vasily Petrenko

Julian Rachlin, violin
Piano duo Scaramouche

W. A. MOZART: Concerto for two Pianos No. 10 in E flat major, K. 365/316a

W. A. MOZART:  Violin concerto No. 3 in G major, K. 216

F. SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 3 in D major, D. 200

Auditioning the best young musicians from every EU Member State in a rigorous, annual process, the European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO) has provided an exceptional bridge between music colleges and the professional music world since its conception in 1976. The Orchestra has worked with some of the world’s greatest artists including Daniel Barenboim, Leonard Bernstein, Herbert von Karajan, and particularly its three Music Directors and current Chief Conductor: Founding Music Director Claudio Abbado, former Music Director Vladimir Ashkenazy, former Music Director and current Conductor Laureate Bernard Haitink and Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko. A highly respected conductor of both symphonic music and opera, Vasily Petrenko is also chief conductor of the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, chief conductor of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and principal guest conductor of the Mikhailovsky Theatre. As well as Mahler‘s magnificent First Symphony, the programme includes two concertos by Mozart featuring, respectively, acclaimed violinist Julian Rachlin and the young Slovene pianists Nadja Rus and Neža Koželj.


Important information

General Terms and Conditions