6th Concert of the International Music Cycle

6. March 2013
Knight's Hall, Križanke
Free entrance

Important information

General Terms and Conditions

Note: This information pertains to a past event. For the most up-to-date information, please check our calendar.

Katja Meljnikov, cello

Winner of the 2012 TEMSIG (Slovenian National Music Competition)

Primož Urbanč, piano 


L. Beethoven – Sonata in A major for piano and violoncello
Gaspar Cassado – Suite for cello solo
Robert Schumann – Adagio and Allegro op. 70

Cellist Katja Meljnikov (Ljubljana, 1992) is the recipient of numerous national and international prizes. The young cellist has been awarded first prize in the international competition Alpe Adria in Gorica, as well as three first prizes and a golden award in TEMSIG, the Slovenian National Music Competitions. In 2012, the Ljubljana Academy of Music awarded her the Prešeren Prize for her performance of Elgar’s Cello Concerto with the Academy of Music Symphony Orchestra. She has appeared as a soloist with the Slovenian Philharmonic, the Vrhnika Symphony Orchestra, the Camerata Medica
Orchestra, the RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra and the Academy of Music Symphony Orchestra. Katja Meljnikov currently studies at the Ljubljana Academy of Music in the class of Prof. Miloš Mlejnik. Amongst her most resounding appearances in recent times has been a recital within the framework of the festival Young Classic Europe in Passau, Germany.

Katja Meljnikov performs on an instrument by the Cremona master Alexandre Krylov, which is almost a family tradition, as her parents, both violinists, also play on instruments by the
same master.

Important information

General Terms and Conditions